Put Your Dream to the Test – BENEFITS

working_together_to_benefit_others_mouse_pad-r5bd284d12ddd4cd9bd3bfb91a5d5a4d1_x74vi_8byvr_324

Put Your Dream to the Test – Benefits

This is our last post in this series.  I hope you have gotten some nuggets you can use to reach your dreams!

When considering the questions in Put Your Dream to the Test book by John Maxwell, the last question is “Does My Dream Benefit Others?”

This is an important question and is far reaching.  Who will your dream impact? How will it impact them?

Why is this important you ask? We are created for relationship with others.  This is a fact of life.  How we choose to share ourselves and our lives determines the types of relationships we find ourselves in.  How you treat others also determines the nature and characteristics of those who choose to have relationship with you.

My dream is to see others increase their potential and find a life they didn’t think was possible.  My dream is to see others reach their impossible dreams.  Turning thoughts of can’t into can, turning won’t into will, turning worthless into value.

I want to share my dream with the world.  My dream is to see other’s dreams come true!

I want to say at the end of my life that because someone believed in me and helped me realize my dreams that I’ve shared that gift and helped others realize their dreams.  I want to see women rise up to be who they are created to be! I want to see men realize their value and be the leader they are called to be in their home.  I want to see businesses around the world increase because I brought value into their lives and helped them realize their true potential.

I wasn’t always that way.  I’ve mentioned in a few posts already how I was directionless, not realizing that I could choose the path my life takes and not realizing that I could have an impact on my world. In fact, I was in pretty bad shape in my teen years and into my 20s.  In high school, I was known as a druggie.  I was in the druggie group.  I think about that now and wonder what the heck was I thinking?  Well, I wasn’t.  I didn’t care about life.  I didn’t care what happened to me.  I actually hoped that through the partying I did that I would lose my life somehow.  I was too chicken to take my life outright.  I did try to starve myself once, but then I got hungry. LOL. So I put myself in situations and explored with drugs that ‘could’ kill me.  I’m SO THANKFUL that I was protected.  I could have really found myself in a much worse situation.  I realize that now.  Then, I didn’t seem to care.  My parents didn’t know what to do with me.  I was partying with drugs and alcohol and sleeping with whoever the current boyfriend was.  Not a pretty site.  Most people now have a hard time believing I was that person.  But I was.  I am here today to say that if you are in that type of situation, YOU CAN CHANGE! You can change your life, change your thought patterns, change who are you hanging around and become the person you are created to be!

When I got pregnant, my parents wanted me to have an abortion.  They didn’t want me to ruin my life.  I’ve made some pretty stupid decisions in my life, but choosing life for my baby at age 15 was one of the best decisions I’ve made.  I had my son at age 16 and he has just celebrated his 30th birthday.  He is an amazing young man on his journey to reach his dreams.  I want the very best for him and to see him reach his dreams.  What would have happened if I had chosen to abort him? He wouldn’t be here today to celebrate his birthday.  He wouldn’t be here today to have an impact on my life, the lives of his younger siblings and my husband, the father figure in his life; who loves him as though he is his own son.  He impacts the lives of everyone he comes in contact with.  It brings tears to my eyes to think about the void that would be in my life because he wasn’t in it. If you are considering abortion for any reason, RETHINK that choice! You don’t know that the baby you are carrying will impact the world with who they are created to be.

I spent so many years wasting away because I was just drifting through life.  Not pursuing any dreams.  I actually didn’t think I had a right to dream because I was so worthless because of bad decisions I’ve made in my life.  DON’T BE THAT PERSON! You should make pursuing your passions and dreams your life! You do have dreams! You can reach your goals! You can make an impact on someone else’s life! If you’ve made a mistake or bad decisions in your life, you can CHOOSE to change your mind and live a better life.  Start today by making one good decision and build on THAT!

What is your dream? How will it help others? How can you be who you are created to be?

John Bunyan states, “You have not lived today until you have done something for someone who can never repay you.”

From John Maxwell, “What are you doing to invest in yourself and what are you doing to invest in others?”

My husband is that person for me.  He encouraged me when I didn’t think much of myself.  He built me up and continued to pour into me that I CAN DO IT! He told me I could do anything I put my mind to.  I had to first be built up to realize that it’s true! Now that I know that, I want YOU to realize that you can do anything YOU put YOUR mind to!  I want to share my dream with the world! I want to see people everywhere realize they can reach their dreams!

I didn’t have a great start due to poor decisions on my part.  HOWEVER, I have changed that! I have changed my life! I HAVE chosen a better path! I have decided to be different! Of course, I couldn’t have done any of it without the love and favor of God.  He is the center of my life.  With God NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE! Let’s make those impossible dreams/goals come true!

You can choose today and change your life and find your dream! IT IS POSSIBLE!

WHO IS WITH ME???

Leave a Reply

