What Are Your Strengths?

201111-omag-workbook-strengths-600x411

 

Do you know what your strengths are?

Your strengths are those things that come easily to you. When you are operating in your strengths, you don’t have to think about in order to successfully complete that task, whatever it is.

Usually when you are operating out of your strengths, not only does it come easily to you, but it is usually in the area you are passionate about.

If you don’t know what your strengths are, I encourage to purchase the book Strenths Finder 2.0 by Tom Rath. Make sure you buy the book brand new and not used. The book has an access code in the back of the book that can only be used once for a quiz. This quiz will tell you what your top 5 strengths are. The book itself is short and describes and defines the strengths.

Here is the link if you wish to purchase on-line at Amazon.com:
Amazon StrengthFinder 2.0 by Tom Rath

I bought the book and took the test during one of my under graduate courses in college. The process made me so happy because it validated that my strengths are mine and I was created to operate using these strengths.

I will be honest, for a long time, I thought I was weird because the way I’m wired is not like most people.

What I found out about myself is that this is how I was created and it’s awesome! I’m awesome! And your strengths make you awesome! You are unique and no one else can operate out of your strengths like you can. Your DNA and make up that compile your top 5 strengths are unique to anyone else. Sure they might have the same 5 top strengths that you do, but you are the only one who can accomplish what you can accomplish.

What I found out about myself through validating my strengths is that when I put them into practice, I’m successful without having to struggle to make it work. It happens easily when I put them into use.

Curious what my strengths are?

My top strength and the one I treasure the most is ‘Maximizer’.

This is what Strengthfinder 2.0 says about Maximizer.

“Excellence, not average, is your measure. Taking something from below average to slightly above average takes a great deal of effort and in your opinion is not very rewarding. Transforming something strong into something superb takes just as much effort but is much more thrilling. Strengths, whether yours or someone else’s, fascinate you. Like a diver after pearls, you search them out, watching for telltale signs of a strength. A glimpse of untutored excellence, rapid learning, a skill mastered without recourse to steps – all these are clues that a strength may be in play. And having found a strength you feel compelled to nurture it, refine it, and stretch it toward excellence. You polish the pearl until it shines. This natural sorting of strengths means that others see you as discriminating. You choose to spend your time with people who appreciate your particular strengths. Likewise, you are attracted to others who seem to have found and cultivated their own strengths. You tend to avoid those who want to fix you and make you well rounded. You don’t want to spend your life becoming what you lack. Rather you want to capitalize on the gifts with which you are blessed. It’s more fun. It’s more productive. And, counterintuitively, it is more demanding.”

When I first read this about myself my first thoughts were YES! YES! YES! THAT’S EXACTLY HOW I AM!!! I was so excited that someone else knew how I am and that there must be someone else out there who is also a maximizer. LOL. I will be honest, it’s not always easy being a maximizer. My family doesn’t always appreciate it as much as they could. 🙂 I wouldn’t change anything about me though! I love being a maximizer!

My second one is Achiever. Being an achiever and a maximizer makes me what some people classify as an Over Achiever. I can’t deny it.

Here’s what Achiever says in StrenghFinder 2.0, “Achiever helps explain your drive. Achiever describes a constant need for achievement. You feel as if every day starts at zero. By the end of the day you must achieve something tangible in order to feel good about yourself. And by ‘every day’ you mean every single day – workdays, weekends, vacations. No matter how much you may feel you deserve a day of rest, if the day passes without some form of achievement, no matter how small, you will feel dissatisfied. You have an internal fire burning inside you. It pushed you to do more, to achieve more. After each accomplishment is reached, the fire dwindles for a moment, but very soon it rekindles itself, forcing you toward the next accomplishment. Your relentless need for achievement might not be logical. It might not even be focused. But it will always be with you. As an Achiever you must learn to live with this whisper of discontent. It does have its benefits. It brings you the energy you need to work long hours without burning out. It is the jolt you can always count on to get you started on new tasks, new challenges. It is the power supply that causes you to set the pace and define the levels of productivity for your work group. It is the theme that keeps you moving.”

This is so true about me. I have lists upon lists upon lists that I check off. I have to feel like I’ve checked enough tasks off to be content. ‘Relaxing’ is not an accomplishment in my book. I have had to learn to cope with this strength because I can wear myself into the ground if I’m not careful all for the sake of completing a task or a deadline, deliverable, etc.

My other strengths, which you will need to get the book for the details of are:
Furturistic – which I’m always looking for change, for the next thing that will progress forward. Always pressing forward, looking at the big picture. What are our goals? Plans? When someone says ‘Wouldn’t it be great if…?’ I’m able to see how it could be, how we can get there, what we need to do. The future fascinates me.

Learner – I am always forever learning. I love to learn new skills, new knowledge, new wisdom, etc. I never want to stop learning ever!

Arranger – This one helps me as a project manager being able to coordinate groups, resources and work to accomplish the successful completion of a project. I also end up being the social coordinator wherever I go at home at church at work. I love love love it! I love bringing people together for a common cause to solve a problem, or fellowship, party, create, or whatever! Just love arranging all the details!

That’s my strengths. What are yours? What are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

